The Devil Is a Liar

Happy Wednesday guys. This week I’m just psyched. Plus I received a lot of feedback on the last post. If you’re wondering, you can read it here. I think I should do a series on giving… What dyu think?? This week we’re reviewing the Gold In Words blog. Check it out here. Let’s get to reading then, shall we?

You know those days when you just know it’s going to be bad? Like right from waking up, you know it’s going to be I-hit-my-little-toe-against-the-door-frame kind of bad. Usually on days like this, I get loads of attention from humans. (Yes because I’m a god you see?) Sorry for making it such a bad thing but it is what it is. I mean, suddenly everyone needs you around and well of all the days you could choose to act up, you just can’t choose that one.

On this particular day, I woke up scratching that feeling on my buttocks as i walked sleepily to the washroom. I realised there was no food when I entered the kitchen and the only money I had left was just enough to go to school and get back. Of course, I had to embark on an emergency fast. You know life has a way of hitting you hard in the face and still maintain its beauty. It was just blissfully awkward that I was broke in the middle of the month. Three birthdays coming up back to back and well I was pretty much done for because I wasn’t getting any money till the month’s end and no one would have any excuse for a birthday gift.  Life is a B.asic I.nstitution T.o C.reate H.allucinations. Take it from me.

As I was just taking everything in slowly, my memory kicked in really hard as if I had been compelled only to remember ah that particular point in time. I was supposed to deliver some laundry to a customer and make it in time to school to write my exam and I was like so so late. While I was rushing out of the house after shabbily dressing up, I had a tingling feeling that something was missing. I just couldn’t place my finger on what it was at the time. It wasn’t till I heard the overly exaggerated trademark voice of the mate re-echo with a kiss of the teeth “Yes backseat”. This slacking was just legendary. And to see the beautiful angel who sat by me that day. I don’t know why these pretty girls show up on the worst days possible. I mean they could show up when my bank alert is ‘packam!’ Or when I get my mum’s car for the weekend. But no! They don’t listen. Anyway, I lived through that. Turned out she was an angel for reals. Imagine my face when she took out her purse to pay for me. Later, I found out that she was a fresher on campus but that’s a story for the gods.

Skip! Skip! Skip!

So I made it in time for the last 30 minutes of my paper and well, I delivered the laundry after that. I was going home with a rumbling tummy. The fun part was, ladies and gentlemen, that I had to walk back home, dreading a repetition of what had happened in the morning. I had friends and all but I didn’t want any of their drama and trust me, all… Read my lips… All; A-L-L my friends have perfect delivery when it comes to drama. 

As if that wasn’t enough, after walking all the way from Osu to circle, I met a group of kids playing harmless football. Just harmless football ooo…. And as if my day was programmed to go from bad into the drain, one @#&)/”!(* Child just hit the ball to hit the back of my neck. Like “bam!” Guess who was faced with the huge task of a rumbling tummy that hadn’t been filled since the afternoon before and the ball kicked to the back of his neck?

I just felt like fainting. Like oh lord, please take my soul. But I didn’t even have the strength to faint or say the prayer. I was too weak to even turn back or say anything. I just continued on and on….
Thanks for making it thus far, let’s meet in the comment section then, shall we?

2 thoughts on “The Devil Is a Liar

  1. Hahaha!! Jeffy, this was so relatable! We all have those days! It’s actually funny reading it in words now. And also, I’m not sure if all of us agree with being tagged as drama queens/ kings. It’s all love. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

    Like

    1. Lol…. You’re arguably top of that list Try ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚… Then again I’m glad you could relate…. Thanks for commenting

      Like

Leave a Reply

