My Daddy is the…

Happy Sunday guys! A happy father’s day to all the Fathers who are part of the family. Belated happy birthday to my Pastor, Rev. Dr. Sylvanus A. Elorm and to the rest of the June borns who took their turn in celebrating their birthdays this week. So like I did for the Mother’s day celebration, I’m doing one for Father’s and well it’s even better cos you get the chance to interact​ with a character solely created for this post. Let’s get to reading then, shall we?

Everyone calls him Daddy Alex. But my Daddy is the best and that’s what I call him. 

He taught me a lot of things. And he still teaches me. He taught me my first Bible lesson. He taught me that irk wasn’t a sound birds made and oaf was definitely not half a loaf of bread. Who can blame me? I was only in class two at the time and well he’s moved from three letter words to four then five and he’s never stopped there.

We didn’t have much growing up but Daddy always made things happen. Like that night when our house got flooded and all our food got carried away with the current. Thankfully no one was hurt and mummy had spent hours to make that food. Banku with grilled tilapia and pepper, Daddy’s favourite. She took her time to make it extra special. Then the rain carried it away. Damned rain. But Daddy stepped out and when he came back he led us to the roof. And bread with coke never ever felt so special. I remember the story he told about his favorite pair of trousers in secondary school.

And when the school sacked me for fees, you should have seen him. The headmaster probably has to live with that as the worst decision he’s ever made. The whole school lit up and we didn’t study for the rest of the day. Daddy always paid my fees on time you see, so he was surprised when they sacked me. Apparently, it was an oversight and well, they just gave me the chance to see my dad in action. 

Daddy’s opinion matters to me so much. I don’t know what I’d do if he ever got disappointed in me.

I won’t lie and say that everything’s been fun and gay. Sometimes, things go wrong. And we get Daddy angry or sad. The whole house shakes. The whole house. And only mummy’s magic touch can get him out. I don’t know what mummy does but it does a lot of good to us. The whole world slows down when Daddy gets angry or sad.

My Daddy’s more than the rap dakta. You should have seen him when he was giving us all the lines in  Run DMC’s song on karaoke night. 

My Daddy’s the best cook in the world. Well amongst men that is. Nobody’s cooking beats mum’s but still.

My Daddy’s more than Bob the builder. Pipes, furniture, gas? Whatever. He’ll fix it.

I love my Daddy because he’s more than a superhero.

I’m married now and well, Daddy’s still teaching me. He’s not around anymore but he still teaches me. I miss him but I’ve never doubted his love for me. 

I love you Daddy!

Thanks for making it thus far, let’s meet in the comment section then, shall we?

2 thoughts on “My Daddy is the…

Leave a Reply

